On The Innate Need and Solution To Draw Much Closer to God…Why Repentance Never Stops

We will start a short series on the need placed within us by God to draw much closer to Him as we slowly progress from mortal sins, to serious venial sins, to smaller but many venial sins, to the road of complete self giving. Father Thomas Dubay, one of the true masters of the spiritual life,  makes a very startling point: the vast majority of “good” Catholics never cross over into the last two stages, and only a tiny fraction ever commit to love with complete self giving in this life as our Lord and our Mother did.  Why is that?  Does that not seem to be a great failure on our part?

There are two key reasons why we fail to cross into the last two states here on earth.  First, we do not know or accept that it is a Gift from God, which must be desired and asked for sincerely.  The second is that we must commit our free wills to this Gift, and correspond to it with greater commitment of our will, and especially of our time to learn the spiritual journey so we can know and experience that the radical self giving will be turned into utter joy!  Most people who do not want to offend God are held back by their selfishness and fear (further influenced by satan) of losing their comforts, time spent on entertainment and their previous lifestyle with friends and family.  The effort needed just seems too difficult…too harsh.  Yet, it is here… in this falsehood…that satan wins.  For God has promised in His Words….”My burden is easy and My yoke is light!”

God can not lie, so we must admit that it simply due to our selfishness.  Now, God being all wise knows this, so in His infinite Wisdom, He knows He must provide infallible means to his weak and selfish children.  And so He does: and these two gifts are trust (based in true repentance) and persistence.  The key: pray each day and beg for these two gifts, which spring from the Grace of our Baptism: the three Theological virtues of Faith, Hope and Love.  And to make it infallible, He gives us life long Divine help by nature…the Holy Spirit, THEE GIFT of the Father and Son, always in our souls when we are in a state of Grace, and Divine help by Grace… through Mary His Mother and our Mother and the  spouse of the Holy Spirit! We must know and have deep, personal relationships with both the Holy Spirit and the Mother of God in order to advance!

St. John of the Cross, the great Doctor of the Church on the spiritual journey, states this truth:
“If a man remains faithful…the Lord will not cease raising him degree by degree until he reaches the Divine union and transformation…If the individual is victorious over the devil in the first degree, he will pass on to the second; and if so in the second, he will go to the third; and likewise through all seven mansions.”

Now, trust with sincere repentance means we first must truly and radically repent… and this is a life long process starting with the first movement of conversion within our minds and souls.  We can’t possibly reach the levels of union God desires for us if we DON’T use the Gift of the Sacrament of Penance often, every week or every other week!!  No excuses…ever.  We are radically addicted to sin, to rebellion from God’s Will and preference for our will (pride!). This is why we Must accept the Gift of Grace offered in the Sacrament of Penance and use it very frequently. The thought that I do not need to go frequently is from satan!

We must be completely convicted of how even the tiniest venial sin is a horrendous offense against the love and majesty of God.  St. Faustina experienced this reality so she could confirm this Truth.  She was shocked to learn that we must account for even the tiniest venial sin. Here is what our Lord told her about this Sacrament of His Mercy: “When you approach the confessional, know this, I Myself am waiting there for you. I am only hidden by the priest, but I Myself act in your soul. Tell souls that from this fount of Mercy souls draw Graces solely with trust. If their trust is great, there is no limit to My generosity. The torrents of Grace inundate humble souls. The proud remain always in poverty and misery, because My Grace turns away from them to humble souls.”

So, as part of our new mission each day we should continue to beg for the Grace of true repentance, which comes from humility.  So, the prayer all of us have learned should be on our lips constantly throughout the day, “Jesus, meek and humble of heart, make my heart like unto Yours.” And as a family seeking to be the intimate friends of God, let us add this one: “Lord, I am a miserable sinner, have mercy on me, give me the Grace to go to Confession every two weeks.”

Finally, we now have an extraordinary Grace to assist us in this repentance and transformation, the Grace of the Flame of Love of the Immaculate Heart of Mary.  Once you take and know you have this Grace operating within your soul, the transformation does happen much faster and more securely!  This is the sole purpose of this “Greatest Grace”.  When you read the Spiritual Diary of Elizabeth Kindelmann, you will note how often she repents of her sin and that of all other souls.  She never stops repenting!  Let us never stop repenting!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to On The Innate Need and Solution To Draw Much Closer to God…Why Repentance Never Stops

  1. gavindm says:

    Thank you Anthony – I needed to hear this. I have been thinking that weekly confession is too much for me to continue because of fear of confessing the same sins to my priest and the fear of what he will think of me. I will resume weekly or every two week confession – strengthened by this your email.

    May God bless you abundantly and protect you dearly! Gavin

    On Saturday, 27 February 2016, The Divine Antidote wrote:

    > Anthony Mullen posted: “We will start a short series on the need placed > within us by God to draw much closer to Him as we slowly progress from > mortal sins, to serious venial sins, to smaller but many venial sins, to > the road of complete self giving. Father Thomas Dubay, one of t” >

    Like

  2. Tony Azcona says:

    Anthony, I have been following your postings for several months now and have now finally decided to post a reply. I want you to know that your posts have helped changed my life, in regards to supporting me and reassuring me on my conversion journey that started only a few months ago.

    First, I ordered your book, “33 Day Consecration to Jesus through Mary” and began my consecration on 12-31-15, which led to my conversion of seeing God in a way I have never seen before and experiencing Him the way that you describe in this post.
    Before this conversion, I viewed going to daily mass, praying the Rosary and receiving the gift of Reconciliation as “chores”; things that needed to be done to be a good Catholic. Wow, how far off was I?
    At a recent confession, I finally surrendered myself to Jesus by confessing my sins, not as a way to relieve my guilt, but by acknowledging the affects of my sin on Our Lord. As every word left my mouth, I could taste and feel (in a spiritual way) the blood and flesh being shredded off of the back of Jesus. For the first time, I felt the impact of MY sins and how much He loves us, and calls us to receive the forgiveness that He offered on the cross. One of the reasons I was able to get to this point is that I had just finished reading The Flame of Love, the condensed version of the Spiritual Diary of Elizabeth Kindelmann, that I purchased from your website, along with reciting the Grace of the Flame of Love into the Rosary for the last 60 days. Between your daily Reflections, your books and my conversion, I now cherish my daily Rosary, daily mass and weekly Confessions, along with some fasting.

    I just wanted you to know that you are a God-send and I thank you for all that you do. The next thing I would like to do is start a parish retreat or at least try to form some prayer groups, so I may need to reach out to you for some advice soon. Please pray for me as I continue on this journey.

    Thanks be to God and to you, for all you do. God bless you.
    Tony

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Mary Anne says:

    Anthony, I have been being called (more than a few times in the past month!) to increase my monthly confession (First Saturdays) to weekly. And now here is another call. Thank you!

    Like

  4. rickie says:

    It is so uplifting to read some of these comments……….and your teaching regarding persistence and trust. I had a question. How does one know when he or she is advancing in holiness, as you said moving through the stages of the interior castle from one level to the next ? Most of the time I find myself confessing the same sins……

    Like

    • Rickie, the best analysis I know of is from Fr. Jean Baptiste Chautard in his masterpiece entitled “Soul of the Apostolate”. You can read pages 82-83 at
      http://www.olmc-mission.org/soul_of_the_apostolate.pdf If the link does not work, it should come up in most browsers as you enter it, or simply google it and it will come up. God allows us to see how far we have to go, but He also encourages us to stay the course. It is in the trust and perseverance that He can quickly move us along, if we stay rooted in the Eucharist (daily Mass, proper preparation and thanksgiving for Communion are essential, and weekly Holy Hour) AND if we faithfully practice our mental prayer, our daily intimacy with Him. Fiat! Lord, let it be done to us!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. marianloui@aol.com says:

    Dear Tony,

    Thank you so much for these posts. I always look forward to them. They nourish me deeply and keep me alert and alive in this grace of the Flame of Love! Oh, what a grace I beg to be made fruitful in my little heart, my little life. Only and all by Mercy and Mary! my only hope!!! 🙂 fiat! We still have our little Thursday enclave here in Lancaster, 6-7 pm, praying the Flame of Love Rosary in Adoration before our Sweet Savior. Such a blessing.

    Mary has us! What a consolation. Jesus, meek and humble of heart, make our hearts like unto Yours.

    in His Sacred Heart on this 1st Friday! Gratefully, Marian

    p.s. One of my friends is a Visitation nun in Massachusetts, and she sent me a new book written by her well known spiritual director, Fr. Michael Gaitley. So beautiful! Have you heard of it? I could hardly believe it when I opened it in the mail. A consecration to Merciful Love. It’s all given in the little way of St. Therese. So tender. You may enjoy it! and feel free to pass it on!

    http://www.thedivinemercy.org/news/33-Days-Lets-Make-the-Time-and-Consecrate-Together-6666

    Like

    • Marian, this is beautiful. Thank you for sharing and for being faithful and doing your part. I have ordered the book of Fr. Gaitley. I hope to be back to Lancaster in the summer. May God bless you in every way, Tony

      Like

Leave a Reply

