The Image of Divine Love: The Consuming Fire of Every Moment

Our Lord constantly uses this image of Fire and Flames in explaining His Love for us. He did this with Elizabeth Kindelmann to the point that He named an Extraordinary Grace: The Flame of Love of the Immaculate Heart of Mary; but also told her that it is He Himself (seeking a union of wills such that He had with Mary our Mother to the degree we are disposed to receive it).

In the almost 15 years of daily or weekly encounters with Gabrielle Bossis, which our Lord explained in “He and I”, our dear Lord also uses this image of Fire frequently. He wants us to better understand His Love so we can love Him with this same Love…this divine Conflagration of Moment to Moment Intimacy, which He so desires….He so agonizingly desires!!

On April 20 of 1945, he explained to Gabrielle: “…give yourself to Love so that Love may possess you…since I long to have all of you and cherish this hope. Your love quenches My thirst. I am most demanding: you see I want My children to be wholly and utterly Mine at every moment. So, don’t withhold a thing. Don’t take anything of yourselves away. You would steal from Me if you did, because everything is Mine. If I require this of you, it is because My yearning for you is a consuming fire. And My yearning is born of My Love. Do you understand? Do you at last believe? Do you acknowledge My power to Love?”

Our Lord then explained what we need to do to draw closer: “Meditate on this need of Mine and you will call to mind that it is in your power to give Me these alms. Then remember the value of a free gift–the gift of oneself–when offered out of tenderness. What inexpressible joy will be Mine who receives (your gift). I will multiply My Blessings so that the one who receives them will be lost in wonder and gratitude. ‘What have I done to deserve this kindness of my God?’ you will ask. And I shall reply, ‘You loved Him with all your strivings and you let Him love you.'”

Our Lord then gives an amazing instruction that will resonate with those pursuing the intimacy of His Love: “Have you noticed how people talk among themselves, discussing their personal affairs? They spend so much time this way and it does them so little good. Don’t you think that If they gave themselves to Me, their Friend, I should rejoice to have My place in their thoughts and I should know how to reward their confidence (abundantly)? Don’t you think that it would create a moment by moment intimacy between them and Me, and this would be a joy for them, because close to Me their lives would lose their tension. Do you understand? It would be life together with Me, I carrying the heavier end of things. So, again I say, speak with Me, My little ones. Speak with Me. And our hearts will merge. Isn’t this the aim of My Christians?…then begin by living this heart-oneness. Seize upon every opportunity. Find every pretext….And if, in all simplicity, their love loved Me more, I should be there looking after everything in their day, and when night fell, their eyes would close again on My face. You know what it is to sleep that way–within My embrace? Would you like to learn better? Remember, it’s a question of beginning over and over again…of trying to grow….of taking great care not to be satisfied with yourself.”

Our Lord then gives the key to success as He did with Elizabeth Kindelmann: “But ponder on your poverty. Tell Me about it and My heart will be all eagerness to help you since you are so little, so weak. And when you call Me be sure to give Me the most tender names. I will recognize the voice…By yourself you are chaos. Do you fully realize this? Do you try to keep it in mind? Have you humbled yourself today in thought or deed? Not to cause you distress nor diminish your strength, but to tighten your hold on the power of God, who is only waiting for your call…Yes, I know what you want most to confide: ‘Lord, I don’t love you as I want to. Make it possible for me to love You more.’ This suffering of not loving Me enough–offer it to Me in pure reverence, straight from your heart. Offer it often. Don’t grow weary, I will heal this poor suffering of yours. Perhaps by sending one greater still, one that brings with it a piercing ecstasy such as you have never known. ‘O precious wound,’ is the cry of those who have felt it….Humble yourself to obtain it. Sacrifice yourself…Approach Love and Love will take hold of you…Oh, the power of repentance! The sacrifice that pleases Me most is a cleft and contrite heart…So, be My very little one.”

Our Lord knows we struggle badly with constantly admitting our utter weakness, sinfulness and nothingness, due to our self love, our subtle pride, so He gives us the solution: “Ask for everything through My Mother. She is so good, so attentive in caring for your souls. If only you knew! You don’t know her well enough. Give yourself to her without reserve, like her little Jesus…My little child, so dear, so dear, will you let Me live on again on earth in you?”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Image of Divine Love: The Consuming Fire of Every Moment

  1. MarysFlameofLove@aol.com says:

    Awesome, Tony…. Powerful !! …and yet so gentle – full of God’s love.

    Like

    • Yes, let us humble ourselves to the dust knowing we are totally unworthy of this gratuitous Gift and let us go out to the byways and invite others to the Feast of Divine love in the moment.

      Like

  2. Tony, what a splendid post! You are definitely on fire–how I love this beautiful meditation on my favorite: THE SACRAMENT OF THE MOMENT…. I am printing the post for my prayer journal. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    Like

    • Amen May God be continually praised! Let us beg for the Grace to commit…each one of us called to this Feast of Love in the Moment….to relish our poverty and nothingness and then Divine Love…the Personal Love between the Father and Son… will continue to pursue us to consume our self love in Divine Love at each moment…as we come to realize that suffering for Love and out of Love…is the Greatest Gift God will ever give us!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Margaret Milne says:

    I have no words to describe how AWESOMELY BEAUTIFUL THIS IS! It touches me so deeply to know the love Jesus has for us. All He wants and craves from us, His children, is to be Loved and cherished in return. He wants us to spend time With Him.. Please Dear Jesus help me know you and love you with all my heart and soul! Please help me to give you the Love and Adoration to please you my dear Jesus. I want to please you with all my heart and soul.
    Thank You for loving me, and giving me the grace to be called by You!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Margaret, this is a testament of Love to Love! Let us thank the Holy Spirit profusely for inspiring the writing and your response and the glory of God’s Love He has shared with us through these holy men and woman like Gabrielle and Elizabeth!

      Like

  4. Mary Anne says:

    I want to read this every day. Many times a day. How I love our Lord! Beautiful.

    Like

  5. One thing which Jesus told Gabrielle was “When you call me, be sure to give me the most tender of names…” I remembered stumbling across ” 365 Royal Titles of Jesus compiled by Al Fritsch, S.J. –Easter, 2011. This beautiful list gives us a new title for each day of the year, all drawn from scriptures and traditional Catholic devotions. What a wonderful resource. With each title, Father specifies the source from which it comes, a treasure: http://www.earthhealing.info/SI/SI365JSS3.pdf

    Like

    • Lord, may we be a praise of your Divine Glory in your Holy Will! Thank you Kathy for this great recommendation for those who want…who need…to grow closer to Love. Having a new tender name every day is a great blessing! Lord, inspire each of us with even more tender names for you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

