The Exceptional Power of Desire in Becoming Holy and in Saving Souls

Our Lord explained to Elizabeth Kindelmann that while some Christians seem to produce results in attracting souls to God, He cautioned her that results are measured by Him alone and our lack of outward results do not matter. He explained to her: “I look forward to these special days when souls offer Me reparation (Thursdays and Fridays). On these days, graces pour out like a refreshing dew descending upon dry and dark souls. You must only want to (make reparation), and leave the rest to Me. Results do not matter. What makes a saint, what saves, and what keeps the person close to Me is the continual desire of the will. This also makes the soul beautiful….Your effort dispels My pain.”

Our Lord also explained to St. Faustina the necessity of desire: “This firm resolution to become a saint is extremely pleasing to Me. I bless your efforts and will give you opportunities to sanctify yourself…If you do not succeed in taking advantage of an opportunity, do not lose peace, but humble yourself profoundly before Me and with great trust, immerse yourself completely in My Mercy. In this way, you gain more than you lost, because more favor is granted to a humble soul than the soul itself asked for…

“Let souls who are striving for perfection particularly adore My Mercy, because the abundance of graces which I grant them flows from My Mercy. I Myself will attend to the sanctification of such souls. I will provide them everything they need to attain sanctity. The graces of My Mercy are drawn by means of one vessel only and that is Trust. The more a soul trusts, the more it will receive. Souls that trust boundlessly are a great comfort to Me, because I pour all the treasures of My graces into them. I rejoice that they ask for much, because it is My desire to give much, very much. On the other hand, I am sad when souls ask for little, when they narrow their hearts…My Kingdom on earth is My life in the human soul.”

St Faustina then explains the intimate connection between desire to repair for sinners and our holiness or union with God: “I was told to do everything with the pure intention (desire) of reparation for sinners. This keeps me in continual union with God, and this intention perfects my actions, because everything I do is done for immortal souls. All hardships and fatigue are as nothing when I think that they reconcile sinful souls with God.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

